Food Research Department . Autonomous University of Coahuila

BioEnergy Research - Springer .


About us

Welcome to the Biorefinery Research Group 

Food Research Department 

Faculty of Chemistry Sciences 

Autonomous University of Coahuila


The conversion of biomass into bioenergy (biofuels) and compounds with high added-value is essential in order to sustain our present and future. The term ‘‘Biorefinery’’ of 2nd and 3rd generation borrows its origin from the classical petroleum refinery concept and refers to biomass conversion into biofuels and compounds with high added-value through the integration of clean processes. This biorefinery concept emergence with the necessity of identifies the most promising products, considering environmental and economic aspects. Therefore, this philosophy that integrates processes and technologies for biomass conversion demands efficient utilization of all components in terms of Sustainability and Circular – Bioeconomy. The Biorefinery Research Group is active in various aspects of biorefinery processes using lignocellulosic and  aquatic (micro and macro – algae) biomass for the production of biofuels such as bioethanol, production of bioactive compounds and enzymes, design of bioreactors, mathematical modeling and process intensification.

We invite you to explore the pages of this web site and see the different activities that this Biorefinery Research Group is developing in the Food Research Department, Faculty of Chemistry Sciences at the Autonomous University of Coahuila in order to find new alternatives in the concept of biorefinery.

– Leaders of Biorefinery Group | Rosy Rodríguez-Jasso & Héctor A. Ruiz